Faculty

HSGG has always embraced diversity in its faculty membership, seeking to use membership as a tool to promote new collaborations with colleagues in allied research disciplines and bring diverse perspectives to help mentor students. Presently there are 34 faculty members in HSGG. A majority of the faculty (56%) come from the Department of Land, Air, and Water Resources, but there are substantial cohorts from Civil Engineering and Environmental Science and Policy. There are also faculty from Geology, Chemistry and Plant Sciences. In addition, there is a hydrologist from UC Merced and an affiliated climate scientist with a UC Davis appointment who presently working in the Federal government. Overall, HSGG is demonstrating exactly what a graduate group is supposed to achieve: multi- and inter-disciplinary engagement across traditional academic boundaries.

 

NameTelephoneEmailWebsite
Image: spacer gif only.
Bombardelli, F. (530) 752-0949 fabombardelli@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Civil & Environmental Engineering
Image: spacer gif only.
Casey, W.H. (530) 752-3211 whcasey@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Aqueous geochemistry
Image: spacer gif only.
Dahlgren, R.A. (530) 752-2814 radahlgren@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Biogeochemistry
Image: spacer gif only.
Dahlke, H.E. (530) 302-5358 hdahlke@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Hydrologic processes, glacier and snow hydrology, subsurface stormflow, pollutant transport tracing
Image: spacer gif only.
Fogg, G.E. (530) 752-6810 gefogg@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Hydrogeology
Image: spacer gif only.
Foglia, Laura   lfoglia@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests:
Image: spacer gif only.
Forrest, A   alforrest@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests:
Image: spacer gif only.
Grattan, S. (530) 752-4618 srgrattan@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Salinity effects on plants at the plant and field scale; reuse and management of agricultural and municipal waste waters; salinity-trace element interactions in plants; evapotranspiration
Image: spacer gif only.
Grismer, M.E. (530) 304-5797 megrismer@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Soil-water physics; drainage
Image: spacer gif only.
Harter, T. (530) 752-2709 thharter@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Groundwater and vadose zone flow and transport processes
Image: spacer gif only.
Herman, Jonathan (530) 752-8870 jdherman@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Water resources planning and management under uncertainty, Robust decision-making in
multi-stakeholder water resources systems, Multi-objective evolutionary optimization of complex engineered systems
 
Hernes, P. (530) 754-4927 pjhernes@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Aqueous organic geochemistry, and carbon cycling
Image: spacer gif only.
Hopmans, J.W. (530) 752-3060 jwhopmans@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Vadose zone, Hydrology
Image: spacer gif only.
Horwath, W.R. (530) 754-6029 wrhorwath@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Biogeochemistry
Image: spacer gif only.
Jin, Yufang N/A yujin@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Remote sensing of terrestrial ecosystems, wildland fire disturbances, ecohydrology, climate and
vegetation interactions, biogeochemical cycles, Geographic Information System
Image: spacer gif only.
Largier, J. (707) 875-1930 jlargier@ucdavis.edu Website Coastal Oceanography
Research Interests: Estuarine hydrology, coastal oceanography, estuarine/marine ecology
Image: spacer gif only.
Lubell, M. (530) 752-5880 mnlubell@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Environmental policy; watershed management
Image: spacer gif only.
Lund, J.R. (530) 752-5671 jrlund@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Water resources management
Image: spacer gif only.
Mackay, D.M. (650) 324-2809 dmmackay@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests:Transport, fate and remediation of chemical contaminants in surface and ground waters
Image: spacer gif only.
Morales V.
  vermorales@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Fate and transport of particle contaminants in groundwater, Non-Fickian transport through porous media, Biochar engineering, Colloid-interface interactions
Image: spacer gif only.
Oldroyd H.   hjoldroyd@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Environmental fluid dynamics, Turbulent transport, land-water-atmosphere interactions.
Image: spacer gif only.
Pandey, P. (530) 752-0615 pkpandey@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: engineering solutions for controlling microbial pathogens from animal waste
Image: spacer gif only.
Pasternack, G.B. (530) 302-5658 gpast@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Process geomorphology, ecohydraulics, watershed hydrology, ecosystem services, and river restoration
Image: spacer gif only.
Paw U, K.T. (530) 752-1510 ktpawu@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Biometeorology
 
Pinter, Nicholas
(618) 453-7375 npinter@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Surficial Processes, Active Tectonics, Natural Hazards, Flood Hydrology
 
Puente, C.E.
(530) 752-0689 cepuente@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Hydrology, surface processes, fractals
Image: spacer gif only.
Sandoval Solis, S. (530) 754-9646 samsandoval@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Integrated water resources management, environmental flows, transboundary basins, water conservation and efficient use of water
Image: spacer gif only.
Schladow, S.G. (530) 752-6932 gschladow@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Environmental fluid mechanics, limnology, estuary dynamics, water quality
Image: spacer gif only.
Silk, W. K. (530) 752-0686 wksilk@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Quantitative plant biology
Image: spacer gif only.
Silva Lucas
(530) 752-2171 lcsilva@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: fundamental processes that regulate the stability and productivity of terrestrial ecosystems at various scales of space and time; interactions between soils, water, plants and the atmosphere, control the performance and distribution of species and communities, as they influence essential ecosystem services.
Image: spacer gif only.
Snyder, R. (530) 752-4628 rlsnyder@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Irrigation scheduling, freeze/frost protection, evapotranspiration modeling
Image: spacer gif only.
Ustin, S.L. (530) 752-0621 slustin@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Environmental remote sensing
Image: spacer gif only.
Viers, J.H. (530) 341-3367 jhviers@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Geospatial aspects of watershed science including natural flow regimes, climate change, water management, land use, sustainable viticulture, freshwater ecosystem conservation and riparian restoration.
Image: spacer gif only.
Zaccaria, D. (530) 219-7502 dzaccaria@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests: Agricultural water management
Image: spacer gif only.
Zhang, M. (530) 752-4953 mhzhang@ucdavis.edu Website
Research Interests:GIS and risk analysis
Image: spacer gif only.